HSSU Presidential Search Overview and Committee Membership

HSSU is conducting a national search for a president to succeed Dr. Dwaun J. Warmack, who accepted the presidency at Claflin University in July 2019. AGB Search has been retained to provide executive search consulting services. The search is expected to conclude in the spring of 2020.

The committee is comprised of HSSU board members, faculty, a student, administrator, staff, and alumni, as well as representatives from the business and civic community. The Presidential Search Committee will assist in recruiting and evaluating a strong and diverse pool of candidates. The search committee is chaired by HSSU Board of Regents Vice-Chair Vanessa Cooksey.

“This is a critical search, not only for Harris-Stowe, but also for the state of Missouri. In addition to following a very structured process that ensures confidentiality and respect for all candidates, the search committee is taking time to listen to a variety of people to determine what role Harris-Stowe plays in the future of the St. Louis region,” said Vanessa Cooksey, the search committee chair. “We are being intentional about stakeholder engagement and casting a wide net for talent so that the next president will continue to advance the University in alignment with the needs of its students, faculty, staff and alumni and with clear support from business and civic leaders at the local, state, national [and even global] levels.”

Members of the search committee are:

  • Dr. Lynn Beckwith, Jr., HSSU Alumnus
  • Vanessa Cooksey, HSSU board of regents vice-chair, director strategic communications and student engagement at Washington University in St. Louis.
  • David Dawkins, managing director of diverse client segments, Wells Fargo Advisors
  • James Fogt, vice president, HSSU IT Services
  • Alexandra Green, HSSU Student, Communications Major, Class of 2022
  • Michael Middleton, deputy chancellor emeritus, professor emeritus of law, University of Missouri
  • Ronald Norwood, HSSU board of regents chair, attorney at Lewis Rice
  • Kathy Reeves, assistant vice president of corporate community relations, Enterprise Holdings
  • Lea Sutherlin, interim director of alumni relations and liaison to the board of regents, HSSU Alumna
  • Dr. Owolabi Tiamyu, associate professor of accounting, former president of faculty senate, HSSU

About AGB Search

Founded by the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB) in 2010, we have a unique understanding of the qualifications critical for effective higher education leadership. AGB Search is the only firm that specializes in all aspects of executive search exclusively for higher education institutions.


Image of the HSSU seal


Located at 3026 Laclede Ave., St. Louis, MO 63103 | (314) 340-3366

Thank you for visiting http://www.hssu.edu. In order to ensure compliance with the Acceptable Use and Security Policies of Harris-Stowe State University and those of MORE Net, our Internet Service Provider, internet traffic on this site is monitored. Copyright (©) Harris-Stowe State University. Questions about this and other Web sites owned by Harris-Stowe State University may be directed to webmaster@hssu.edu. Click here to submit feedback or report errors.